## Southern Hang Gliding Paragliding Club Annual General Meeting Minutes



Date/ Time: 14th November 2017, 7pm "S.S. Luanda" moored at the QYC

**Committee Present**: Mark Hardman, Tim Brown, Katka Cerna, Chris Shaw, Louis Tapper, Helen Jeffrey & Blake Round.

**Members:** Hannah Ruthford, Ian Douglass, Lucy Middendorf, Grant Middendorf, Daniel Clearwater, Keith Clapson, Renee Schwaller, Abe Laguna, Pumba Hislop, Kath Jones, & Benjamin Kellett.

**Apologies:** None recorded

Minuted by: Helen Jeffrey reviewed by Tim Brown

**Draft minutes distributed:** - 3<sup>rd</sup> December, 2017

Final minutes distributed:

Meeting opened after a few drinks and a sausage bun at 7pm

• Minutes from the 2016 AGM held on 24<sup>th</sup> November 2016 were read by Tim

Brown.

Moved as read: Lucy Middendorf

Seconded: Renee

• Election of the New Committee for 2017.

Mark Hardman and Melanie Heather stood down as members during 2017. All the other Committee members have agreed to stay on. A sincere gratitude to Mark and Melanie for all their work.

**Dean Orton**, from Wanaka had offered to take Melanie's position as Secretary in an email on 16<sup>th</sup> October 2017 and so he was elected and approved as the new Club secretary.

Nominated by Tim Brown Seconded: Chris Shaw

Dean Orton's contact details are:

Mobile: 021 612 998 Address: P.O.Box 752

Wanaka NZ

Email: dean@orton.co.nz

Ben Kellet was elected onto the Committee as a general member.

Nominated: Chris Shaw Seconded: Helen Jeffrey **Memories** and acknowledgement of the passing of Ben and Omar two members who passed away through the year whilst paragliding. A memorial bench for Omar is being made and will be placed in the Flight Park. Members wishing to contribute to the cost may see Blake Round.

**Treasurers report**: A summary of the years expenses and assets. (see attached)

Tabled and read by: Tim Brown Accepted as read: Helen Jeffrey Seconded: Mark Hardman

There was a lengthy discussion regards the value of keeping fees as they are and to maintain a healthy bank account. Some members had expressed a desire to spend more of the surplus and questioned what they were getting for their annual subscriptions which are apparently the highest of any other PG /HG Club in the NZHGPA. Mark Hardman provided an explanation and an history as to how the current subs of \$45 came about which was to future proof the Clubs assets to guard against the possibility of lawyer fees, site protection and potential substantial asset purchases ( such as property). The Site Development Fund is to maintained at \$3000 per year. It was noted that the Crown Terraces landing fee to the landowner has not been paid for two years. An attempt will be made to contact the landowner. It was noted that local members have a free entry fee to local regional competitions for which visiting pilots must pay.

Digger works and posible road works at Treble Cone were sited as an example of upcoming expenses.

Members were welcome to come forward with initiatives, suggest ideas and organise activities for recompense from the Club with approval of the Committee.

**Events in 2017:** A summary of the years more significant events was read by Tim Brown with acknowledgements for those that organised them.

Events mentioned were: A BBQ at Tim Browns house in Dalefield in December

2016 / Tim Brown

Regional PG XC competition Dec16 / Tim & Louis

Coronet Club Day Feb 17 / Chris Shaw

Coronet Winter flying certification / Helen & Craig The Gondola pager replacement Jun 17 / Many

SHGPGC joins the FMC Jul17 / Mel FMC photo competition Aug 17 / Dan

Ladies Club Day Aug 17 / Helen

Airband Radio Operators evening Oct17 / Many

Competition Task Familiarisation Nov17 / Chris & Tim Regional XCCompetition Nov17/Angus &Louis Tapper

Pilots were encouraged to be welcoming and respectful to each other and especially to help new and visiting pilots orientate to, and abide by, our local regulations and site protocol. Recreational and XC pilots are encouraged to build rappore with the speed and acro flyers as it is important that we all understand each other's disciplines and to share our community.

Upcoming events include the 'Freedom of Flight' film evening on the 10<sup>th</sup> December organised by Kat and Louis. See the 'Freedom of Flight' Facebook page for details. Also upcoming is a second XC competition in late December Wanaka organised by Tim and Louis.

- Ackowledgements and Achievements: Craig Smith was acknowledged for his efforts regards the production and selling of the new Club T-shirts.

  Nine SHGPGC attended the NZHGPA AGM in late October. Derek Divers, Mark Hardman and Blake Round were elected to the NZHGPA Executive Committee. Significant achievements by Club members acknowledged were Louis Tappers representation of NZ in the 'Worlds', Nick Neynen's participation in the Red Bull X-Alps (for a second time).
  - Mark, Mel, Pete and Dan represented NZ in China at the Linzhou competition in July and Tim flew the flag for NZ in two competitions in Macedonia also in July.
- Future Issues include the ongoing development of the new Club website being developed by Daniel DiazRizo. He has recently presented the probationary website for review by the Committee and other members. Dan is in Mexico. It should be online shortly. The pages need to be reviewed.

  A second development is the renewed RASP weather forecasting website which
  - A second development is the renewed RASP weather forecasting website which has now changed hands. Louis Tapper is now involved with this and maintains that the new RASP is now 'safe' to use!
- A special thanks to Helen and Blake for organising this unusual and brilliant venue
- With no further issues to discuss the meeting was closed at 8:15pm.

Position	Name
President	Tim Brown
Secretary	Dean Orton
Treasurer	Katka Cerna
Paragliding Safety	Blake Round
officer	
Hang Gliding Safety	Pete Helliwell
Officer	
Sites Officer	Cathal
	McLoughlin
<b>Events Officer</b>	Chris Shaw
IT/ Web Officer	Daniel Diaz Rizo
Airspace Officer	David Hansen
Committee Member	Louis Tapper
(1)	
Committee Member	Helen Jeffery

Position	Name
(2)	
<b>Committee Member</b>	Craig Smith
(3)	Ben Kellett
<b>Committee Member</b>	
(4)	